View Full Version : USDA Hedgehog Breeder?
Ododad
10-18-2006, 05:32 PM
http://www.freewebs.com/glidermom/availablehedgehogs.htm
Has anyone ever heard of this person, or know who they are? I've just discovered that they are close to me.
Nancy
10-18-2006, 06:22 PM
Never heard of them but I didn't see where it mentioned a name.
I question their knowledge as they say they have S&P litters and that hedgehogs can be kepts at 65F.
Jeanette
10-18-2006, 06:47 PM
This is a direct quote from their webpage... my gosh....
"An exercise wheel is an excellent addition and will help him to stay healthy and trim. Although a guinea pig wheel will suffice, there are now specially designed Hedgehog Wheels available from many pet suppliers." :banghead:
NO!
Nancy
10-18-2006, 07:00 PM
Looks to me like they are in this for the money only and not because they love the animals. Look at all the different types of animals they breed plus the ones they can get.
HedgieHaven
10-18-2006, 08:07 PM
Check with the USDA. You can also check with the local DNR in that area. Normally when a person breeds many different types of animals it means that they are watched more closely. We got hh Havanna and our skunk Standly from Brighten Farms who is a large breeder of many different types of animals. When we picked up our animals we could tell she cared very much for all her animals. All the local sheriffs knew who she was and that her animals where well taken care of.
As for many animals we have many here does not mean we don't love them all. Yes I only breed HH every now and then.And breed turkeys and chickens. But all of our animals here at Hedgie Haven from the bird, turkey, turtles, skunk, dogs, cats, frogs ect All have a special spot in at least one of my families heart if not all of ours.
Sometimes you just have to do a little footwork. Call them and ask to visit you never know you might just find your next little loving partner!
PrettyHate
10-18-2006, 08:09 PM
Never heard of them but I didn't see where it mentioned a name.
I question their knowledge as they say they have S&P litters and that hedgehogs can be kepts at 65F.
Nevermind that they advertise they can get pet cougars etc. These sound like GREAT people to deal with.
*Fighting off the urge to leave something not so nice in their guest book*
HedgeMom
10-18-2006, 08:19 PM
I thought it was against the rules to talk bad about someone on this forum, especially if they aren't members of the forum?
keeja820
10-18-2006, 09:51 PM
They list their USDA licensed number on the front page...is there anyway to look them up that way?
i dont know too much about USDA, sorry...
herbiesmom
10-18-2006, 10:27 PM
I really never would have known that salt and pepper hedgies were so rare if I had not gotten onto these forums. Now, I am constantly amazed by the number of breeders who claim to have them. It is my first clue as to who knows what. :dunno:
bloane
10-18-2006, 10:47 PM
One thing I notice? "A" licenses (the letter in the middle of her license number) is a breeders license. Not a brokers license. So if she is "getting" other animals for sale to people, then that would qualify as brokering, correct?
I don't think I know this breeder personally, I recognise the name for some reason, but can't remember exactly why, or if I am remembering positive or negative about them. Horribly helpful, aren't I? :-P
Becca
I really never would have known that salt and pepper hedgies were so rare if I had not gotten onto these forums. Now, I am constantly amazed by the number of breeders who claim to have them. It is my first clue as to who knows what. :dunno:
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.